The Five Principles of Reiki

The Reiki Precepts or Gakai

The secret art of inviting happiness through many blessings, the spiritual medicine for all illness.

Just for today

Do not anger

Do not worry

Be grateful

Be honest in your work

Be compassionate to yourself and others

Mornings and evenings sit in the gassho position and repeat these words out loud and in your heart for the improvement of mind and body.

Usui Spiritual Healing Method - The Founder - Mikao Usui

“The five precepts are the essence of Usui’s teachings. It is only when we practice the five precepts that we really understand Reiki.” – Hyakuten Inamoto

According to Mikao Usui, the majority of our physical and mental imbalances stem from the fact that the five principles have not been observed. The Eastern philosophies assert that the deep-rooted nature of our suffering is due to the fact that we have not recognised its true cause. Emotions such as anger, avoidance, aggression, desire, emotional attachments and dark mental states can pave the way for energetic imbalances, disharmony, discomfort and illness.

Reiki is not used purely to purify the physical body, but also to clear our energetic and mental bodies of stored disharmony. The ultimate goal of Reiki is an awakening of conscience (satori), that which Mikao Usui called ‘dai an shin’ or ‘shin ritsumei’, which can be translated as ‘The meaning of existence is to be at great peace in the heart-spirit (dai an shin) and to fully realise the spiritual sense of one’s life on earth (ritsumei). One of Mikao Usui’s great hopes was that Reiki would help people to obtain enlightenment, true happiness and spiritual wisdom.

The Five Precepts should not only be used as affirmations. They are ideals for living. Teachers and Practitioners alike are encouraged to consciously incorporate them into every aspect of their day-to-day lives. They help the Reiki practitioner add spiritual balance to his or her work as a healer. Living in this way is a crucial part of the Reiki experience if a healing is to have a lasting effect. The practitioner should commit to self-improvement on a daily basis, thus healing the spirit, just as the client must accept responsibility for his or her own well-being. It is quite simple once you begin to understand how interconnected we all are. The principals are founded upon the notion of non-separation, of universal love and unlimited compassion, not only for ourselves but also for the whole of the society we live in. Whilst we are all individuals, unique expressions of oneness, we are nevertheless interconnected.

The five principles offer a way of maintaining balance between all creatures and every living thing. By applying them consistently we ensure we live a happy and harmonious life. They are not without considerable responsibility. They make us take a long, hard look at ourselves, to understand and accept ourselves, to be mindful, ethical and to take responsibility for our thoughts and actions. As we uplift our way of thinking we also raise our own energetic vibration, achieve an overall sense of well-being and make a contribution to the greater whole. With the five precepts Mikao Usui was helping people to understand that without modifying conscience there could never be a true healing.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Peta
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square